“God wants everyone to take out their credit cards and do some serious shopping! This is shopping without guilt,” said “The Insider” anchor Louis Aguirre, welcoming the crowd to a three-day fundraising event for Housing Works national AIDS-FREE U.S. 2025 campaign. The benefit, at the Miami Design District from February 5-7, 2016, raised over $300,000 for the non-profit whose mission is to end the dual crises of homeless and AIDS.
Ken Fulk30

Lenny Kravitz, Grammy Award winning singer-songwriter, and designer Ken Fulk were honored with the “Giving by Design” award for their work on behalf of the HIV/AIDS community. Event Social Chair photographer Douglas Friedman presented the award to Fulk who said: “25 years ago I saw a really handsome man, and I learned that handsome man, who became my boyfriend, had HIV. We’ve had an extraordinary life together, but not all are fortunate. I live the life of my dreams and anything I can do to give back, I gladly will.” When Kravitz accepted his award he said: “A cure is right around the corner.”
In the historic Moore building in the Miami Design District, 25 one-of-a-kind room vignettes were created by participating interior designers who used donated and new furniture, art and home decor. All items on display, including a David-Bowie-inspired space, were available for purchase at up to 80 percent off of retail value with proceeds benefitting Housing Works efforts to end AIDS.  Top interior designers, philanthropists and LGBTQ influencers and TV personalities brought glamour to the benefit, which included a preview evening, VIP opening night reception and sale, and public designer sale. Notable guests included: Elsa Benitez, Christina Getty, Jennifer Valoppi, Sam Champion, Criselda Breene, Sam Robin, and Rubem Robierb.
Louis Aguirre5Created 12 years ago, Design on a Dime and has now grown to feature over 100 designers nationally. For the first time this year, Housing Works expanded the New York event to Miami.
The event was chaired by Design on a Dime founder, James Huniford and co-chairs Brian Kelly, Ken Fulk, Michael Boodro, Sarah Harrelson, Jill Hertzberg and Jill Eber, with honorary chairs including Andy Cohen, Christina Saralegui and Sandra Lee.

Participating designers included: A. Keith Powell Interior and Saladino Design; Anne Rue; B&G Design, Inc.; Brown Davis Interiors, Inc.; Christopher Coleman Interior Design; Contour Interior Design; Cultured Reading Room Conceived by Jonathan Gonzalez; Décor Aid; Deft Union; Doreen Chambers Interiors, Inc.; Fava Design Group; Hallock Design Group; Hinojosa Design; Insignia Design Group; Juan Carlos Arcila-Duque; Maggie Cruz Interior Design; Mendez Vela Design, Miguel Lewis; Mike Stake Studio; MS2 Design Studio; Oskar Torres; and Taylor & Taylor, Inc.